Try the MLS eBook & Audio books library for FREE in your school

We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)

SLA People

The Board

The School Library Association is managed by a Board, elected by SLA members for a period of three years. There are currently two sub-committees, for Publications and Training.

The SLA's Board is the strategic planning body for the Association, and the input of new board members, bringing fresh ideas and approaches, is essential.

The nomination period for new members of the Board, to serve from June 2013 to June 2016, was announced in the winter edition of The School Librarian. Ballot forms were posted to members with the Spring edition of The School Librarian.

SLA President

Kevin Crossley-Holland Kevin Crossley-Holland (President 2012-2015)

Kevin Crossley-Holland's 'Arthur' trilogy has been translated into twenty-three languages, and has sold over one million copies worldwide. He is a frequent speaker at schools and libraries across the country. He is an Honorary Fellow of St Edmund Hall, Oxford, a patron of the Society of Storytelling, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. His novel Bracelet of Bones was published by Quercus in 2011.

SLA Patrons

Michael Morpurgo Michael Morpurgo OBE

Author, Children's Laureate 2003-2005

"Here is an association of wonderful people, devoted to books, and dedicated to bringing them to as many children as possible. They know that books matter, that children matter, that children who do not have books in their lives are the poorer for it. That's why they do what they do. That's why I do what I do. That's why I'm so pleased to be a Patron of The School Library Association."

Aidan Chambers Aidan Chambers FRSL

Author, 2002 Hans Andersen Award Winner

Wendy Cooling MBEWendy Cooling

Consultant, Founder of Bookstart

Officers 2013- 2014

  • Chair: Lin Smith
    School Librarian, Derbyshire
  • Vice-Chair: Karen Horsfield
    Resources for Learning, Somerset
  • Treasurer: Susan Staniforth
    Library Services for Education, Gloucestershire
  • Past Chair: Ginette Doyle
    School Librarian, Gloucestershire

Board Members

  • Publications Co-ordinator: Geoff DubberE-mail geoff.dubber(at)
  • The School Librarian Editor: Steve HirdE-mail sleditor(at)
  • The School Librarian Reviews Editor: Chris Brown E-mail reviews(at)
  • ict[at]sla Editor: Elspeth Scott E-mail ict.editor(at)
  • Elected Members:
    • Annike Dase (2012-2015) Weekend Course Director
    • Sally Dring (2013-2016)
    • Jayne Gould (2011-2014)
    • Rachael Hine (2013-2016)
    • Nikki Heath (2012-2015)
    • Lesley Martin (2011-2014) Weekend Course Director
    • Liz Smith (2011-2014) 
    • Duncan Wright (2012-2015)

SLA Staff