• https://www.sla.org.uk/control/uploads/images/natural/300/contained/behind-the-beans-book-awards-new-logo-684x400~1606301882.jpg

Costa Book Awards shortlists announced

25 November 2020 Share

Launched in 1971, the Costa Book Awards celebrates the most enjoyable books of the year by writers resident in the UK and Ireland.

Uniquely, the prize has five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book – with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the year and each category is judged separately by a panel of three judges per category. 

Books are entered by publishers and the winner of the Costa Book of the Year receives a cheque for £30,000, presented at an awards ceremony at the end of January.

Key dates for the 2020 awards

• Close of entry: Tuesday 30th June 2020

• Category Shortlists announced: Tuesday 24th November 2020

• Category Winners announced: Monday 4th January 2021

• Costa Book of the Year announced: Tuesday 26th January 2021

The full shortlist can be found here, but the Children’s Book Award shortlist is as follows:

Wranglestone by Darren Charlton                                                        (Little Tiger)  KS4/5

Voyage of the Sparrowhawk by Natasha Farrant                                 (Faber)   KS2/3

The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates by Jenny Pearson    (Usborne)   KS2

The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff                                                        (Bloomsbury Publishing) KS4/5