• https://www.sla.org.uk/control/uploads/images/natural/300/contained/bbalogomastera4w~1580216689.jpeg

Longlist for the 2020 Branford Boase Award announced

28 January 2020 Share

The longlist for the 2020 Branford Boase Award was announced today (Tuesday 28th January 2020). Set up in memory of award-winning author Henrietta Branford and her editor Wendy Boase, one of the founders of Walker Books, the Branford Boase Award is given annually to the author of an outstanding debut novel for children and has a notable record in picking out the most talented authors at the start of their career.

Uniquely, the Branford Boase Award also honours the editor of the winning title and highlights the importance of the editor in nurturing new talent.


 59 books were submitted and by more than two dozen different publishers; 

20 books have made it onto the longlist.



The 2020 Branford Boase Award longlist in full:


The Middler by Kirsty Applebaum, edited by Kirsty Stansfield (Nosy Crow)

Little Badman and the Invasion of the Killer Aunties by Humza Arshad and Henry White, edited by Holly Harris and Sharan Matharu (Puffin)

The Space We’re In by Katya Balen, edited by Lucy Mackay-Sim (Bloomsbury)

Asha and the Spirit Bird by Jasbinder Bilan, edited by Kesia Lupo (Chicken House)

A Pocketful of Stars by Aisha Bushby, edited by Liz Bankes and Sarah Levison (Egmont)

Charlie Changes into a Chicken by Sam Copeland, edited by Ben Horslen (Puffin)

Potkin and Stubbs by Sophie Green, edited by Emma Matthewson (Bonnier Books)

The Garden of Lost Secrets by A M Howell, edited by Rebecca Hill and Becky Walker (Usborne)

Bearmouth by Liz Hyder, edited by Sarah Odedina (Pushkin Press)

The Girl who Lost her Shadow by Emily Ilett, edited by Eleanor Collins and Jennie Skinner (Floris Books)

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson, edited by Lindsey Heaven (Electric Monkey)

High-Rise Mystery by Sharna Jackson, edited by Robin Stevens (Knights Of)

Frostheart by Jamie Littler, edited by Naomi Colthurst (Puffin)

Lori and Max by Catherine O’Flynn edited by Rebecca Lloyd (Firefly Press)

Nevertell by Katharine Orton, edited by Annalie Grainger (Walker Books)

The Midnight Hour by Benjamin Read and Laura Trinder, edited by Rachel Leyshon (Chicken House)

The Tzar’s Curious Runaways by Robin Scott-Elliot, edited by Mikka Haugaard (Everything with Words)

Bloom by Nicola Skinner, edited by Nick Lake (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

The Million Pieces of Neena Gill by Emma Smith-Barton, edited by Naomi Colthurst (Puffin)

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day by Dominique Valente, edited by Harriet Wilson (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

The Branford Boase Award is sponsored by Walker Books.


 The shortlist for the Award will be announced on Thursday 30th April 2020.  

The winner will be announced on 1st July at a ceremony in London.



The Henrietta Branford Writing Competition, the annual competition for young people which runs in conjunction with the Branford Boase Award, is also open.                        

For further information please contact Andrea Reece on 07807893369 or andrea.reece@zen.co.uk