2021 Reading For Pleasure Award Winners Announced :: NEWS
  • https://www.sla.org.uk/control/uploads/images/natural/300/contained/screen-shot-2021-10-26-at-135557~1635252976.png

2021 Reading For Pleasure Award Winners Announced

22 October 2021 Share

The 2021 Farshore Reading for Pleasure Awards, run by Farshore in partnership with The Open University and UK Literacy Association, celebrated huge achievements amongst inspirational, dedicated individuals.Launched in 2017, these awards aim to recognise teachers and schools whose research-informed practices make a real difference to children’s reading for pleasure.This year has seen many brilliant examples of practice.

You can also watch the video of the night to get the latest updates from Teresa Cremin and Cally Poplak, see author Jamila Gavin introducing each award, and hear from the winners themselves.

Winners 2021:

Early Career Teacher Award – Phoebe Lawton, The Wilmslow Academy, Cheshire

Reading for Pleasure in the ‘New Normal’

Experienced Teacher Award – Georgie Lax, Starcross Primary, Devon

The ‘Funnies’ and the ‘Feelies!’

Community Reading Champion Award – Jenny Holder

Reading: Bringing Us Together (Even When We’re Apart)

Community Reading Champion Award – Jill Queen

Developing a Reading Community at Netherburn

Whole School Award – Lapal Primary School, Halesowen submitted by Laura Atkinson

Developing Reading Communities

Whole School Award – Moorlands Primary Academy, Great Yarmouth submitted by Jon Biddle

Building on the Foundations

Highly Commended 2021

Experienced Teacher – Mary Jenkinson, St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Dinnington, Sheffield

Learn to Read – Read to Learn

Experienced Teacher – Cathie Whiting, Deb Johnson & Sharon Ealing, Coleshill Heath School, Birmingham

‘Reading Role Models’

Whole School – Lea Forest Primary Academy, Birmingham submitted by Craig Clarke

Becoming a ‘Lifetime Reader’ at Lea Forest Primary Academy

To download all the examples of best practice listed here, please visit: www.ourfp.org/2021/10/21/the-farshore-reading-for-pleasure-2021-award-winners/