IBBY Announces Winners of the 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award :: NEWS
  • https://www.sla.org.uk/control/uploads/images/natural/300/contained/hans-christian-anderson-award~1647882965.jpeg

IBBY Announces Winners of the 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award

21 March 2022 Share

Junko Yokota, President of the 2022 IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury announces the winners of the 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award.

The Andersen Award is sponsored by Nami Island Inc. to whom IBBY expresses deep appreciation for its generous support of this prestigious award.  

The 2022 winners are: Marie-Aude Murail from France, for Writing, and Suzy Lee from the Republic of Korea, for Illustration. 

Over 30 years, Murail has written nearly a hundred books for children and young adults. Her dossier notes that in many ways, she embodies the values of IBBY: committed to the cause of children and reading, observing the world seriously, and with humour and caring optimism, opening numerous windows on the major stakes of contemporary society.

Quoted in her dossier, Lee says that picture books are “a joyful form of play, presented in the most refined style that tells the most serious of stories” and describes herself as “someone who plays together with the readers over a little bowl of stories that come alive through pictures.”

The criteria used to assess the nominations included the aesthetic and literary quality as well as the freshness and innovation of each nominee’s work; the ability to see the child’s point of view and to stretch their curiosity; and the continuing relevance of the works to children and young people. The Award is based on the entire body of work. 

Sixty-two candidates from 33 countries were nominated for the 2022 IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award. The jury reviewed all these nominations of incredibly highly qualified candidates, carefully and thoroughly assessing each one while maintaining discussions related to the criteria. The shortlist of six authors and six illustrators was announced in February this year.

The 2022 Finalists: 


  • María Cristina Ramos from Argentina
  • Fatima Sharafeddine from Lebanon
  • Peter Svetina from Slovenia
  • Annika Thor from Sweden
  • Margaret Wild from Australia


  • Beatrice Alemagna from Italy
  • Ryoji Arai from Japan
  • Iwona Chmielewska from Poland
  • Gusti from Argentina
  • Sydney Smith from Canada

Profiles of all the 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award nominees can be found in the Bookbird special Andersen issue #59/4 and on the IBBY website: www.ibby.org/andersen-awards-2022 

The IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international distinction given to authors and illustrators of children's books. Given every other year by IBBY, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards recognize lifelong achievement and are given to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature.