• https://www.sla.org.uk/control/uploads/images/natural/300/contained/clpe-farjeon-winner~1581606160.jpeg

CLPE wins Eleanor Farjeon Award

13 February 2020 Share

Centre for Literacy in Primary Education is 2019 recipient of Eleanor Farjeon Award

We are delighted to announce that The Centre for Literacy in Primary Education has been named as the 2019 recipient of the Eleanor Farjeon Award, which was announced last night. The award, established in 1966 to honour the writer Eleanor Farjeon, recognises outstanding commitment and contribution to the world of children's books. Previous recipients include Philip Pullman, Michael Rosen, Shirley Hughes and Malorie Blackman.

Christabel McKinley, Co-Chair of the CBC, said: "This year we wanted to honour the scope and ambition that the CLPE has demonstrated in their pursuit of improving literacy for all children. The holistic approach they have taken - providing a wealth of resources for both children and educators through relevant research, tailored training and their beautiful new library – has proved ingenious and demonstrably effective. It is with great pleasure that we would like to recognise the commitment the CLPE has already made to furthering child literacy, and we look forward to watching the transformative results of their work continue."

Louise Johns-Shepherd, Chief Executive of the CLPE, accepted the award on the charity's behalf.  She said: "Eleanor Farjeon was such a champion of children and of books and we are so honoured to have our work recognised by this prestigious award. Children's literature is the absolute heart of all our work at CLPE where we support children to become literate and to develop a love of reading and writing in their homes, in schools and in libraries. Receiving this recognition will help us to do even more for children, in more places and with more books."

Read More