Hans Christian Andersen Award nominations released :: NEWS
  • https://www.sla.org.uk/control/uploads/images/natural/300/contained/hans-christian-anderson-award-0~1607514249.jpg

Hans Christian Andersen Award nominations released

09 December 2020 Share

The Hans Christian Andersen Award panel have released the nominations for the biennial international literature prize.

The prize is administered by the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY). The UK have nominated Author Marcus Sedgwick and illustrator David McKee.

Previous UK winners of the author award are Eleanor Farjeon (1956), Aidan Chambers (2002) and David Almond (2010). Winners of the illustrator award include Anthony Browne (2000) and Quentin Blake (2002). 

The 2020 winners were Jacqueline Woodson (US) for the author award and Albertine (Switzerland) for the illustrator award.

The shortlists for the awards will be announced in 2022, and the winners will be revealed at the Bologna Book Fair 2022. They will be presented at the 38th IBBY World Congress, to be held in Putrajaya, Malaysia, in September 2022

The full list of nominations is here.