Shortlist announced for the 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award :: NEWS

Shortlist announced for the 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award

21 February 2022 Share

The International Board on Books for Young People is proud to announce the shortlist for the 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award. 

The IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award, established in 1956, is the world’s most prestigious international children’s book award. Previous author winners include: Erich Kästner (Germany), Cao Wenxuan (China), Astrid Lindgren (Sweden), Gianni Rodari (Italy) Ana Maria Machado (Brazil) and Margaret Mahy (New Zealand). Previous illustrator winners include: Kv?ta Pacovská (Czech Republic), Maurice Sendak (USA), Mitsumasa Anno (Japan), Igor Oleynikov (Russia), Albertine (Switzerland) and Quentin Blake (UK).

This year, the 2022 shortlist includes the following:


  • Marie-Aude Murail from France
  • María Cristina Ramos from Argentina
  • Fatima Sharafeddine from Lebanon
  • Peter Svetina from Slovenia
  • Annika Thorfrom Sweden
  • Margaret Wild from Australia


  • Beatrice Alemagna from Italy
  • Ryoji Arai from Japan
  • Iwona Chmielewska from Poland
  • Gusti from Argentina
  • Suzy Lee from the Republic of Korea
  • Sydney Smith from Canada

Junko Yokota from the USA was elected as the 2022 Jury President, and led the 10-member Jury comprised of: Antoine Al Chartouni (Lebanon), Marilar Aleixandre (Spain), Evelyn Arizpe (Mexico/UK), Mariella Bertelli (Canada), Tina Bilban (Slovenia), Viviane Ezratty (France), Jiwone Lee (South Korea), Robin Morrow (Australia), Jaana Pesonen (Finland) and Cecilia Repetti (Argentina). Liz Page acted as Jury Secretary. 

The criteria used to assess the nominations included the aesthetic and literary quality as well as the freshness and innovation of the body of work; the ability to see the child’s point of view and to stretch their curiosity; and the continuing relevance of their works to children and young people. 

After the meeting Yokota said, “It was remarkable to work with such an accomplished jury. Despite coming from so many different cultures and backgrounds there was a surprising degree of consensus. We felt deep appreciation for the many wonderful candidates whose works we were privileged to study.” 

The two winners will be announced at the IBBY Press Conference on Monday 21st March 2022 at the Bologna International Children’s Book Fair. The medals and diplomas will be presented to the winners during the 38th IBBY Congress in Putrajaya, Malaysia, during the IBBY World Congress, between 5th - 8th September 2022.

For more information, please visit and