Astrid Lindgren Award

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

The SLA is one of a few worldwide bodies that submits nominations for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. This section from the ALMA website explains more:

Astrid Lindgren is one of Sweden’s most important authors. Her works have been translated into more than 90 languages. She renewed children's literature and combined artistic integrity with commitment to the rights of children and young people. Astrid Lindgren died in 2002 at the age of 94, but her stories will live forever. To honour her memory and to promote interest in children’s and young adult literature around the world, the Swedish government founded an international award in her name, the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is presented every year. The award money is SEK 5 million, making it the largest international children's and young adult literature award in the world. The award total indicates that reading by children and young adults is extremely important. The total is also intended to inspire anyone involved in children's literature.

The award is presented to authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters. The award may be presented to a single laureate or to several, regardless of language or nationality.

    • Who do you think the SLA should nominate for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award?
      Please fill this in
    • How does this person meet the nomination criteria?
      Please fill this in

Meet the people who help make it happen