We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)


Redbridge Children's Book Award

Budding young readers and writers celebrated the eighth annual Redbridge Children’s Book Awards on Thursday 7 July 2011.

Students from 16 secondary schools across the Borough, 2 primary schools and Ilford reading group voted for their favourite Children's and Teenage book published in 2010.

Cathy Cassidy’s book Cherry Crush won the Children's category and Malorie Blackman’s book Boys Don’t Cry won the Teenage category.

A number of the shortlisted authors – Cathy Cassidy, Keren David, Tim Collins, Eleanor Updale and Joe Layburn read extracts from their books, answered questions from eager students and signed autographs,  .

It was also a chance for the winners of the writing and poetry competitions to be presented with their prizes by the Mayor, Cllr Chris Cummings.

Aashik Chhibber won the poetry competition, which was judged by David Fulton, lecturer in English at Brunel University.  Scarlett Milner-Stopps won the short story competition, which was judged by author, Joe Layburn.  Winners were presented with a book token and a fiction book.  Both winners read their pieces to the audience. All shortlisted students were given an anthology containing their work.

The book award is organised and sponsored by Redbridge Schools Library Service.

Error no. 216 occurred.