We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)


Geraldine McCaughrean wins Michael L. Printz Award

Geraldine McCaughreanThe Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults is among those awarded by the American Library Association (ALA). The White Darkness, by English author Geraldine McCaughrean, is the 2008 Printz Award winner. The book is published in the USA by HarperTempest, an imprint of HarperCollins.

McCaughrean, who has been published in the UK for many years by Oxford University Press, was chosen to write the official sequel to Peter Pan, Peter Pan in Scarlet and has been winning awards for her books for many years, since being awarded the Whitbread Children's Book Award for A Little Lower than the Angels in 1987.

Four Printz Honor Books were named: Dreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duet, by Elizabeth Knox, published by Frances Foster Books; One Whole and Perfect Day, by Judith Clarke, published by Front Street; Repossessed, by A. M. Jenkins, published by HarperTeen; and Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath, by Stephanie Hemphill, published by Alfred A. Knopf.

Full list of ALA Awards

Error no. 216 occurred.