We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)


Jane Nissen wins Eleanor Farjeon Award 2007

Jane Nissen with flowersThe winner of the Eleanor Farjeon Award was announced this week at the Unicorn Children's Theatre in London.

Jane Nissen is seen here with Anne Harvey, representing the estate of Eleanor Farjeon and Jamila Gavin who was the guest speaker.

Jane Nissen, the founder of Jane Nissen Books, has been hugely successful in bringing some of the best-loved children's books of the 20th century back into print and enabling a new generation of readers to discover for themselves high-quality, timeless titles that should not be lost.

The Eleanor Farjeon Award is made for distinguished service to the world of children's books and is given to someone whose commitment and contribution is deemed to be outstanding. The spirit of the award is to recognize the unsung heroes who contribute so much to every aspect of children's books.

The SLA is delighted that our Chair, Eileen Armstrong was among the nominees for her work supporting reading and school libraries.

The other nominations:

The Polka Theatre - The Polka Theatre is one of the few venues in the UK which is dedicated to producing and presenting work for young audiences. Since the doors opened in 1979, this unique venue has been entertaining children with resonant, engaging and exciting theatre.

Eileen Armstrong - Eileen is a huge advocate of children's literature in schools and libraries. She is currently chair of the School Library Association, which aims to highlight the need for school libraries across the country.

Seven Stories - Seven Stories is where our rich heritage of British children's books is collected, explored and celebrated. Books are their inspiration for all kinds of exhibitions, activities and events that encourage and inspire children.

Jo Williams and Marianne Adey - Jo and Marianne are volunteers who have worked tirelessly over the last 10 years to organise the FCBG Red House Children's Book Award. The award is given each year and the winner is voted for by their readers.

Error no. 216 occurred.