We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)


School Librarian of the Year Award 2016: Fve exceptional librarians

It is testament to the especially high quality of nominations received this year that the Honour List for the SLA School Librarian of the Year Award 2016 is longer than usual. This year five exceptional librarians from a wide variety of schools are included:

  • Sophie Chalmers (Southbrook School, Devon)
  • Rachel Knight (Sherborne Girls, Dorset)
  • Amy McKay (Corby Business Academy, Northamptonshire)
  • Alison Tarrant (Cambourne Village College, Cambridgeshire)
  • Lauren Thow (Portobello High School, Edinburgh)

These are five exceptional school librarians, each of which has made a huge difference to the lives of the students and people they work with, igniting a passion for reading, setting students on a learning journey, teaching them essential skills, as well as supporting staff and reaching out to the wider community. Any one of these five would be a worthy winner of the SLA School Librarian of the Year Award.

Their full profiles will start to go live on the SLA website on 30 August, with each further profile being published once a week.

Ginette Doyle, Chair of the SLA School Librarian of the Year Selection Committee, said:

"Every year I speak about the amazing, high-level librarians who have reached the honour list and think that they cannot be bettered. This year we have five honour list librarians with less than five marks separating them. Each one is doing incredible work in their school libraries. Each one is a very worthy Honour list member."

Download the full SLA Press Release about the 2016 Honour List:

More Details...

Error no. 216 occurred.