We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)

SLA Blog » July 2005RSS Feed RSS

The SLA blog contains news about the SLA and topical information of general interest to our members. The blog has been running since 2004. An RSS 2.0 feed and information about how to subscribe to the blog are available.

Older blog posts are still available, though archived, on the website, but please check the date at the top of the post to make sure the offer or information is likely to be valid.

School librarians concerned over staffing review

The Education (review of staffing structure) Regulations 2005 have placed a duty on Schools and LEAs (where appropriate) to review every maintained school’s staffing structure and prepare a plan for the full implementation of any changes arising from the review, by 31st December 2005. Changes must be implemented by 31st December 2008. This is part of the workforce remodelling in schools begun in 2003.

The SLA is aware that this is causing some concerns for school librarians in England and Wales due to proposed changes in duties and line managership. The SLA is looking at all the paperwork, speaking to relevant organisations and investigating the implications. We will be issuing a position statement as soon as possible and we hope this will help librarians in negotiations in their schools.

In the meantime any SLA members who are concerned about this issue are welcome to ring the SLA advice line, 01793 791787, and we will do our best to help you.

0 comments · Add a comment

IASL conference opens in Hong Kong

The annual conference of the International Association of School Librarianship (IASL) opened on Friday 8th July at the University of Hong Kong (HKU). Following the opening ceremony, which was addressed by Mrs Fanny Law, Permanent Secretary for Education and Manpower for Hong Kong, a variety of sessions have taken place. These have included a keynote address from Prof. Stephen Heppell, formerly of Ultralab, UK; workshops and papers in both English and Mandarin; and research papers for the Annual Research Forum. The annual International Baccalaureate (IB) PALMS conference was also held concurrently on Sunday.

At the conference dinner on Saturday evening IASL awards were presented:

  • Leadership Development Awards:
    Jabu Hlophe, Swaziland
    Mahdu Bhargava, India
    Pradeepa Wijetunge, Sri Lanka

  • IASL Books for Children:
    Mdlazi Primary School, Murchison, South Africa
    Mikes Keleman High School, Covasna, Romania

  • Support a Member Grant:
    Eugiene Neville, Kwa Zulu Natal
    True Nguyen, Vietnam
    Nasiruddin Munshi, Bangladesh
    Hewn Borja, Ethiopia

  • ProQuest E-library Award:
    Dianne Oberg and Jennifer Branch, University of Alberta, for 'Focus on Inquiry: A teacher's guide to implementing inquiry-based learning'

  • IASL/Softlink Excellence Award:
    Margaret Spillman, Lorraine Todd and Claire Grandcourt of Mackay West State School and Mackay City Council Library Service, Queensland, Australia for 'Productive Partnerships - Learning for Life'

With many more important and interesting sessions still to run, and lots of networking among delegates, the conference will close on Tuesday July 12th. For more information, see the conference webpages.
Next year's conference will be held in Lisbon, Portugal, from 3rd - 7th July. The title is: The Multiple Faces of Literacy: Reading, Knowing, Doing. More information shortly on the IASL website

0 comments · Add a comment

New integrated inspection services announced for England

Monday 1st July saw the launch of a new integrated inspection system designed to ensure that all local authority children's services reflect their needs and contribute to their well-being.

Under the new arrangements, inspectorates and commissions involved in the inspection of children’s services will work together from September to inspect, review and assess education, social and healthcare provision for children and young people aged 0-19.

The framework for inspection of children’s services has been published today following consultation and the passing of the Children Bill. The 10 inspectorates and commissions involved in its development today welcomed the move to a more integrated approach to the inspection of children’s services.

Speaking on behalf of all the inspectorates and commissions, Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of Schools, David Bell, said: "The new arrangements published today represent the first ever integrated system for the inspection of children’s services and aim to ensure that all children and young people, no matter where they live and whatever their situation, are safe and happy and get the best from their local services."

0 comments · Add a comment

Meg Rosoff wins Branford Boase Award

Jacqueline Wilson, Children's Laureate for 2005-2007, announced the winner of the Branford Boase Award for a first novel for children last night at a celebration at Walker Books in London.

The winner, Meg Rosoff, who won for her novel How I live now (Puffin) was unable to attend, having been grounded in New York due to storms, but sent a message: "As a 48 year old first-time novelist, it's a wonderful honour and encouragement to be awarded the Branford Boase Award. I love the idea that How I live now could be the start of a new fifty year career!"

The prize, named in honour of outstanding children's writer Henrietta Branford and gifted editor Wendy Boase, who both died of cancer in 1999, is also awarded to the editor of the winning novel, in this case Rebecca McNally of Puffin Books.

The winners of the Henrietta Branford Writing Competition for young writers under the age of 18 were also announced, and these were:

  • Gemma Renyard, aged 10, Hampshire
  • Arielle Bennett, aged 15, Hampshire
  • Matthew Main, Aged 11, Hampshire
  • Sarah Mooney, aged 15, Renfrewshire
  • Hannah Wann, aged 15, Berkshire
  • Kirsty Angove, aged 15, Cheshire

  • More information

0 comments · Add a comment