We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)

Inspiration Award 2014


Oak Tree Primary School
Oak Tree Primary School

Congratulations to the winners of the inaugural School Library Inspiration Award.

In the Primary School Category, sponsored by LFC

  •     Oak Tree Primary School, Nottinghamshire

In the Secondary School Category, sponsored by Gresswell

  •     Dixons Allerton Academy, West Yorkshire

The winning schools were presented with their certificates and prizes by award-winning author/illustrator Chris Riddell.

Dixons Allerton Academy
Dixons Allerton Academy

The winners were announced at the School Libraries Celebration Day ceremony on Monday 6 October 2014 at Hotel Russell, London.

The Inspiration Award aims to set future standards for the recognition of excellence in school library design. The Award will be made annually to the school library space that shows inspiration, innovation, creativity and resourcefulness in its library design and in use, either through creative use of specific products or promotions. What matters is not how big the school library space is, but what it has achieved with the available resources and the challenges it faces.


Four primary and three secondary schools were in the running for most inspirational school library in the SLA School Library Inspiration Award 2014.

Read the full profiles of the shortlisted schools:

Primary School Category, sponsored by LFC

Secondary School Category, sponsored by Gresswell


Ashington Central First School

Battyeford CE Primary School

Oak Tree Primary School

Bishop Challoner Catholic College

Budmouth College

Further Information

The Inspiration Award is the successor to the SLA's Library Design Award, founded in 2010. Full information about this predecessor Award is available here.

The Inspiration Award runs alongside the SLA's School Librarian of the Year Award.

Read the full Press Release about the launch of the SLA Inspiration Award for 2014:

SLA Inspiration Award Launch Press Release

PDF file, 164 kB

Requires Adobe Reader


The SLA Inspiration Award 2014 is sponsored by Gresswell and LFC.

Gresswell Logo    LFC Logo