We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)

School Librarian of the Year Award


Nominations for School Librarian of the Year 2018 have now closed and the judging process is underway.

Watch out here for exciting upcoming information about the Award.

Let's give our best school librarians the recognition they deserve!

2017 Winner

Lucas MaxwellThe School Library Association is delighted to announce that Lucas Maxwell of Glenthorne High School, London Borough of Sutton, has been awarded the honour of  School Librarian of the Year 2017.

Multi-award-winning illustrator and author Chris Riddell presented him with the award at a special ceremony at The Hive, Worcester, on 9 October.

The two other school librarians honoured for their work are Mairead Duggan of Mount Carmel School in Dublin and Shelagh Toonen of Elgin Academy in Moray, Scotland.

From bringing books to life in highly imaginative and engaging ways, to generous and bold outreach work with their respective communities, via substantial and meaningful support for staff as well as pupils, Lucas Maxwell and each librarian on the Honour list have made a huge difference to the lives of all they work with, igniting a passion for reading.

Read the full profiles of all the finalists and view their video presentations at SLA School Librarian of the Year 2017.

About SLYA

The School Librarian of the Year Award is the SLA's prestigious honour to recognize the excellent work that is carried out in school libraries every day, and to highlight the best practice of those whose work is outstanding.

To find out more about the School Librarian of the Year Award, explore these pages:


Foyle LogoThe 2018 School Librarian of the Year Award is sponsored by the Foyle Foundation, who are providing generous support for the Award through to 2020.

The Foyle Foundation is an independent grant making Trust supporting UK charities which, since its formation in 2001, has become a major funder of the Arts and Learning. The Foundation also operates a community small grants programme and a national school library improvement scheme.